The Official Bill Ward Site The Official Bill Ward Site The Official Bill Ward Site

Beyond Aston

To be released ???

Track Listing

Following is a list of all songs appearing on Beyond Aston, with a brief critique. Please note these songs and titles have been copywritten and rights are protected. It would be an illegal act to copy or use these titles in any way whatsoever.

Beyond Aston© – Bill Ward
(Titles not in order of appearance)

  1. Crow
    A song about Irish struggles over the years, (soft rock) including choir and accordian

  2. The Dark Half Hour
    (Hard Rock) A song about the memory, child abuse and deep passion. Saxophone/Fender Strat Licks.

  3. Straws
    (Medium Rock) A song which appears as part of a trilogy of war songs on Beyond Aston – gimmicky effects and hardcore lyrics.

  4. God and the Law
    (Medium Rock) Religion and war, part of the trilogy of war songs, Bill played drums.

  5. Hi Fi Life
    (Medium Rock) Featuring the Perry Sisters, uplifting grooves, about music for what ails you.

  6. Ashes
    (Hard Rock) Takes a poke at current systems in place that are accepted as “normal,” excellent drums Ronnie Ciago.

  7. Angel in the Rain
    (Medium/Hard Rock) The gathering of human oddities and people from all walks of life and asking “Who left that angel in the rain”©. Bill played drums.

  8. Beyond Aston
    (Medium Rock) A song written originally about 10 years ago (after a long and sad conversation with Oz). Upon completion of lyrics it was realized the song not only reverberated the conversation but also reflected possible everyman/woman’s experiences. Small choir accompanies Bill’s vocals.

  9. Monmouth Nights
    (Medium Rock/Jazz) A song about Sabbath getting back together to rehearse for shows at one of their old haunts, Monmouth, a Roman town in Wales, the birthplace of Henry V in 1387, Paul Ill Bass/synth excellent.

  10. First Day Back
    (Medium Rock) Song’s about returning from whatever hell you’ve been in, and it’s your first day back. Gibson guitar licks/Keith Lynch.

  11. Everybody Loves Me
    (Slow Hard Rock) About the ego, and the loneliness that comes with ego, drugs and sexuality. Exceptional drumming by Ronnie Ciago, featuring Perry sisters.

  12. Powder on the Moon
    (Medium Rock) Cross fades from end of Everybody Loves Me, about obsession to be liked at all costs, even when dead.

  13. Soldiers
    (Medium Rock) Part of trilogy of war songs on this album. Respectful song in part about soldiers at the front line.

  14. Abandoned Gift
    (Soft Rock) I think it’s a song about me, I think it came out of the feeling of loss or grief.

  15. Somebody’s Heart
    (Soft Rock) Song’s about Bill’s reaction to the first Sabbath reunion at Ozzfest, played without Bill, sad and very loving song. Great slide guitar by Keith Lynch.

  16. Elephant Man
    (Medium/Hard Rock) Excellent drumming by Ronnie Ciago, song of assassinations and suffering.

  17. Woodshop
    (Medium/Hard Rock) About trying to find God inside chaos. Bill plays drums. Straight ahead rock bass and guitar.

Downloadable Sound Clips

Writing Credits

  • Lyrics & Musical Arrangements by Bill Ward

Other Credits

  • Bill Ward – Vocals
  • Keith Lynch – Guitar
  • Paul Ill – Bass
  • Ronnie Ciago – Drums 

Catalogue Numbers

  • Not Available Yet


  • This album was originally going to be called “Remembering”.
  • This album was written and recorded during the time that Bill’s second solo album, When the Bough Breaks, was lying (completed) unreleased in 1996 while Bill was pursuing a record contract. It lied dormant for awhile until 2002 due to Black Sabbath commitments.

Looking for something?

Use the form below to search the site:

Still not finding what you're looking for? Drop a comment on a post or contact us so we can take care of it!

Visit our friends!

A few highly recommended friends...